We've merged effective January 1, 2020 and while this website may still bear the name and logo of Westminster Savings Credit Union, we are in the process of revising all print and digital materials to bear the name of the new legal entity - Prospera Credit Union. We appreciate your patience during this transitional period.

Westminster Savings Credit Union Board Elects New Chair and Vice Chair

New Westminster, BC, June 1, 2012 – Westminster Savings Credit Union is pleased to announce that the Board of Directors has elected Bill Brown as Chair and Darlene Hyde as Vice Chair.

Mr. Brown has extensive experience at the senior management level in the beverage industry in Canada, including President of a subsidiary of Fortune Brands, Alberta Distilleries and Featherstone. He brings both national and international business experience to his role at Westminster Savings, with particular expertise in product marketing and program development. He now provides business consulting services to a number of industries.

A Westminster Savings board director since 2006, Mr. Brown is also Chair of the People Services and Compensation Committee and sits on the Nominations Committee. He also serves as a Director of the Mercado Capital Corporation and Mercado Financing Ltd Boards, and is a former member of the Port Moody Police Board and the BC Transit Police Board.

Ms. Hyde has extensive executive and senior management experience in a number of industry sectors: telecommunications, insurance, automotive retail, electric utilities, manufacturing and association management. Currently, she is Executive Director of the Vancouver chapter of the Commercial Real Estate Development Association.

Elected to Westminster Savings’ board in 2008, Ms. Hyde serves as a member of the Governance and Conduct Review, People Services and Compensation, Nominations and Investment and Loan Committees. She also serves on a number of other boards: she is Vice Chair and trustee of the Motor Vehicle Sales Authority Customer Compensation Fund, Vice Chair of the Douglas College Foundation board and a member of the board of the Insurance Council of British Columbia. Previously, she served on a number of community boards, including the Justice Institute Foundation, the Eagle Ridge Hospital Foundation and the Ottawa-based Traffic Safety Research Foundation, as well as the Campaign Cabinet of the United Way of the Lower Mainland.

Former Chair Ross Montgomery will remain on the board along with other continuing board members: Kathleen Kennedy-Strath, Chief Executive Officer of Kinsman Lodge; Emmet McGrath, Chief Financial Officer of Lincoln Mining Corporation; Patty Sahota, an independent consultant focusing on public policy issues; Michael Edwards, Senior Partner with Edwards and Company; Rob Shirra, President of RGS Consulting International Inc.; and Doug King, Principal of King & Company, CGA Accounting Firm.

About Westminster Savings

Headquartered in New Westminster, Westminster Savings Credit Union provides a full range of retail, commercial and wealth management services, plus vehicle and equipment leasing services through its wholly-owned subsidiaries WS Leasing Ltd. and Mercado Capital Corporation. Its 400 employees serve approximately 50,000 members from 12 retail branches across metropolitan Vancouver. Westminster Savings also offers a wide range of online and mobile banking services, access to global ATM networks and extended telephone service through its contact centre located in New Westminster.

For more information:

Samantha Giovenazzo
Sgiovenazzo@national.ca, 604-691-7383